Silver Medal Awards


Silver-medal_PoloroidThe American Advertising Federation’s Silver Medal Award Program was established in 1959 to recognize men and women who have made outstanding contributions to advertising and who have been active in furthering the industry’s standards, creative excellence and responsibility in areas of social concern. Annually, AAF member clubs bestow this honor upon outstanding members of the local advertising community.


Past winners have managed radio stations, corporate and retail ad departments. They have been publishers of magazines and newspapers. They have been agency owners, creative directors, copywriters, media buyers or account executives. Other winners have owned market research firms, recording studios and video production companies. Media sales reps, freelancers and printers also are among previous honorees.


Submit Nomination Form


Past Silver Medal Award Winners


2018 Bill Stoeffhaas 2017 Dan Monroe
2016 Ford Wiles 2015 Dawn Reeves 2014 Bo Stanford
2013 Spencer Till 2012 Jerry Brown 2011 John Montgomery
2010 Joe O’Donnell 2009 Michael Murphy 2008 Dr. Shelley Stewart
2007 Linda Rountree 2006 Ron Council 2005 Keith Williams
2004 Rod Clark 2003 Jerdan Bullard 2002 Ann Halpern
2001 William M. Harvill 2000 Theresa Harper Bruno 1999 Robert Luckie, III
1998 Judy Fraser 1997 Jimmy Townsend 1996 Wanda McKoy
1995 Leo Wright 1994 Liz Bishop 1993 John Forney
1992 Mike Strong 1991 Terry Slaughter 1990 Phil Sankey
1989 Jess Bullock 1988 Joan Perry 1987 Leo Tichelli
1986 Wayne Gillis 1985 Lu Cruce 1984 Harry Bressler
1983 Frank Lee 1982 Arthur P. Baxter 1981 Arthur E. Curl, Jr.
1980 Roy Hickman 1979 Cal & Dorothy Roden 1978 Ross Luckett
1977 Don Dunham 1976 Ed Boutwell 1975 Jack Hail
1974 Richard Peacock 1973 William “Bill” Rogers 1972 Billy Martin
1971 Harry Hoile 1970 Emory Cunningham 1969 Frank Taylor
1968 Vincent Townsend, Sr. 1967 William Spoor 1966 Arthur Cook
1965 Otis Dodge 1964 Paoli Smith 1963 Bob Luckie, Jr.
1962 Clarence Killian 1961 Ben McKinnon 1960 Forbes McKay